Tonight’s Partial Lunar Eclipse Is Special

When I listed the partial eclipse on Thursday, November 18 to Friday, November 19, I had no idea it was special. I’m giving you more information because it will be beautiful and also because cults love special things and we all know what that means.

It’s the longest partial lunar eclipse in 580 years. The partial phase (the part you can see without special equipment) will be 3 hours and 28 minutes and the whole eclipse will be six hours and 1 minute. At maximum, the moon will probably glow red.

It’s visible over all of North and Central America. South America will see most of the eclipse before the moon sets. Europe and Western Africa will see some of the beginning of the eclipse. Central Asia and Australia will see some of the eclipse around moonrise. NASA has a nice map. https://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/LEplot/LEplot2001/LE2021Nov19P.pdf

For more information, see https://www.space.com/beaver-moon-lunar-eclipse-2021-guide?campaign_id=49&emc=edit_ca_20211117&instance_id=45587&nl=california-today&regi_id=112647142&segment_id=74597&te=1&user_id=c9efd3687ea12eec8e32e61a5b86de7d

Here’s the time table for North America.

Penumbral eclipse begins
1:02 a.m. Eastern Time
12:02 am Central Time
11:02 pm Mountain Time
10:02 pm Pacific Time

Partial eclipse begins
2:18 a.m.Eastern Time
1:18 am Central Time
12:18 am Mountain Time
11:18 pm Pacific Time

Maximum eclipse
4:02 am Eastern Time
3:02 am Central Time
2:02 am Mountain Time
1:02 am Pacific Time

Partial eclipse ends
5:47 am Eastern Time
4:47 am Central Time
3:47am Mountain Time
2:47 am Pacific Time

Penumbral eclipse ends
7:03 am Eastern Time
6:03 am Central Tim
5:03am Mountain Time
4:03 am Pacific Time