Redesigning the Calendar (Dates and Ritual Symbols)

I have a zillion things to do this week and this post was half-finished. I had planned to post it in the middle of the week, as an extra, but decided to take the easy way out and use it for the 3/30 post. It may be boring for you but it was fun for me to work on it!

This is my first poll, and I had to do it four or five times to get it to work. I know WordPress is easy, but sometimes I find it a real challenge. And I took my car into the shop and then used Uber for the first time today and the key got stuck in the front door and I thought I would have to take Uber back to the shop and spend the day reading “Car and Driver” but I finally got the door open. As you might guess, I am neither technically nor mechanically talented.

One of the things I am doing this week is going to the International Society for the Study of Trauma and Dissociation’s annual conference and mingling with the famous and near-famous. I went to one about five years ago and was a nervous wreck because I felt like such an imposter among all those researchers and academics. This year I was all calm and collected until it occurred to me that I just happen to have a blue streak in my hair. Ack! So my mantra until the conference is over is “If they are shocked, that’s their problem, not mine.” Actually, I am starting to think it is funny.

By the way, the streak isn’t my fault. My granddaughter came for the weekend and made me do it. It didn’t take a lot of arm-twisting, though. (Manic Panic vegetable dye; doesn’t harm the hair, washes out after five or six shampoos – not.) I sometimes think I am reliving a life that was once defined by fear, depression, anxiety and chronic pain and I am now up to my early teens.

 

So on to the poll – hope you are impressed!

 

 

The poll closes on April 6.

The current calendar is above this post, all the way to the right.

Here is a month from an old calendar, for those of you who have not seen it and those of you who have forgotten what it looked like.

Significant Dates: 2013
Abbreviations
•    N – Nazi, Neo-Nazi
•    P – pantheistic
•    S – Satanic

January
1/1 S New Year’s Day
1/5 P Shivaratri (night of Shiva creator/destroyer)
1/5 or 1/6 S Twelfth Night
1/6 P Dionysian Revels
1/6 P Kore gives birth/manifestation of divinity
1/6 S Epiphany
1/7 S St Winebald’s Day
1/11 S New moon
1/12 N Birth of both Rosenburg and Goering, Nazi leaders in WWII
1/13 S Satanic New Year
1/14 P Makar Sankranti: Hindu: Harvest Festival
1/17 S Feast of Fools (Old Twelfth Night) /Satanic and demon revels
1/18 S Old Epiphany
1/18 – 1/22 P Dream Festival (Pleiades)
1/20 S St. Agnes’ Eve
1/21 N Martin Luther King Day
1/26 S Full moon
1/26 N (starts evening of 1/25) Tu Bishvat (Jewish celebration of spring)
1/26 S? Australia Day
1/30 N Hitler named Chancellor of Germany

2 thoughts on “Redesigning the Calendar (Dates and Ritual Symbols)

  1. Hi Jean
    You put so much work into this changing of the calendar. I was just curious as to why the changing. Unless you can make it easier to read perhaps then that may be the solution. Are you going to make it graphically stand out? The blue streak is great..fun is always the in thing to do..unless well that’s another story..did you get nail polish to match..:)

    1. I think I perseverated!

      Actually, it is the most popular item in the searches. The better I make the calendar, the more likely people will explore other pages. And ease of use is a big consideration.

      When you said blue streak I thought it was referring to a blue streak in the calendar, which I don’t have. But it might be a good idea. Or, hmm, maybe different religions in different colors. But I am bound to offend somebody!

      Can more of you weigh in on the poll? That would be super, especially if you came up with some wild ideas I haven’t thought of.

      A few pple at the conference came up and said they thought my hair was great. It was fun! And a few had streaks in their hair, too. They were considerably younger than me.

      And no, the nail polish is gold, a matte gold.

Leave a Reply

