Dangerous Groups

I have been posting on the 5th, 15th, and 25th of each month. I got behind and so am switching to the 10th, 20th, and 30th of the month.

Since we are prone to revictimization, it’s a good idea to have ways to red-flag dangerous people and groups.

A helpful tool is Isaac Bonewits’ form evaluating the danger level of a given group. He spent thirty years collecting feedback and revising and refining it. The final version, The Advanced Bonewits’ Cult Danger Evaluation Frame, is found at www.neopagan.net/ABCDEF.html. (Don’t be put off by neo-pagan.net; the evaluation form has nothing to do with any religion.) Although the form was designed to evaluate groups, it could easily be applied to individuals and families.

Bonewits totally ignores the ideology of the group, its size, whether or not it is mainstream, and its official pronouncements. Instead, he calls for an examination of the group’s behavior. There are eighteen factors to be considered, including amount of violence, hypocrisy, paranoia, and control over thoughts and behavior. Each is rated on a scale of one to ten. The higher the group’s score, the more dangerous it probably is.

There are links to Dutch, German, French, Italian, Polish, and Portuguese translations on the webpage.

No matter how deeply buried, we all have a small inner voice that says “Watch out!” and we should listen carefully to it. Bonewits’ evaluation form can validate and strengthen that wise little voice. Use it often and spread the word to others.

7 thoughts on “Dangerous Groups

  1. I want to start new categories! 1. Recapitulation (this is NOT revictimization) it’s about time cycles and physical or emotion retraumatization. 2. Polyvagal Theory and Defaulting to the Primitive Vagus. 3. Differences between Affective (preverbal days traumas) and Cognitive (verbal days traumas)…Why am I so slow to write my book? The volume of my insights on the subject are overwhelming.

  2. My bad! I had a typo in the url. Thanks for alerting me!

    It works now — the form itself is at the bottom of the page. You can skip all the stuff above it, but it is sort of interesting (at least to me.)

  3. I have a pretty bad cold but my voice has now come back pretty well. I hope we can talk and I will call today but in case I miss you, I went to the web site and I can’ find any Cult Danger Evaluation Frame. When you have time, can you help me find it? Thanks, Karen

    On Sun, Mar 10, 2013 at 10:32 AM, ritualabuse

Leave a Reply

